Level 20 Mage pet issue or not?

Hesyous

Dalayan Elder
The level 20 mage pet CAN IN FACT dual wield.

However, if I try and summon 2 fangs (not lore) or even 1 spear which is the level 20 mage summoned weapon spell, my pet will not wield them. To clarify. It welds 1 fang but not 2, and will not wield a single spear. From what I recall a long time ago, when my mage was level 20, I would summon 2 spears for my pet and have NO issues which my pet taking them.

I hand the items over and he will only take 1 fang. (I am repeating myself here to make sure the nail is buried)

Why is this?

EDIT: I am not at home right now. Just thought about something. Is the Summoned Fang at Primary or Secondary only weapon? If so, that explains it.

Also, if it is, could this please be changed? I see no reason why this can't. There is nothing OP about a mage pet wielding weapons that its master can summon. It is an innate ability the Mage has. After all, they are considered Master Summoners.
 
Last edited:
Update:

If I target my pet and cast a summoned fang it will wield it. If I do it again it does nothing. If I target myself and cast 2 fangs, then hand them to my pet, my pet will only take 1.

After my pet has 1 fang in his inventory and I cast a summoned dagger while my pet is targeted, it does nothing. If I target myself, cast a dagger, hand the dagger to my pet it will now have a fang and dagger in his inventory.

I noticed that the summoned spear is a level 20 spell, but requires level 20 to wield it. Could this be the issue why my pet won't wield it? Could you please change that? Lower the level to 15 or something? It only seems fair that you give a summoned weapon to a mage at XX level along with a new pet and you are able to share those weapons with your pet.

I also tried to hand my pet a Rune Sword, Dagger of symbols and it did not take any of them.
 
BTW, I am trying to make sure I stay within the right area in posting. So, this is a FAQ, but also a suggestion at the end. Please advise....
 
So...I don't want to edit this post at all. I understand that I spoke up too soon and should have just posted a single suggestion in the 'Suggestion Thread'. Anyway, if anyone dev or admin wants to respond here, then cool otherwise this thread was created with haste.
 
I am not sure exactly what you are asking.

Are you saying the pet is not duel wielding specific weapons, or not duel wielding at all?

I think pet duel wield is specific to the PETs level, so that might be why you are experiencing changing functionality. Does it still do it with one pet tier higher?
 
The level 20 pet duel wields. But it has problems with a specific weapon, that is the summoned fang.

The pet which is recieved at level 24 doesn't have this issue. The pet at level 20 has the issue.

After examining it in game I decided to post the issue in the Tech Support forum because it is a bug in my opinion. I see that post has since been removed.
 
Pets dual wield at level 20. The spell that you get at level 20 is a level 19 pet and therefore will not dual wield. The spell you get at level 24 is a level 23 pet and does dual wield.

If you are causing the pet spell you get at level 20 to dual wield weapons, that would be a bug because it should not dual wield.
 
Although this is only tangentially related, dual wield seems awfully wonky for Enchanter pets. This may be a limitation of the Invisible Man model or the fact that Enchanter pets spawn with a "fake" weapon and shield, though I'm only guessing here.

If I target a fresh animation pet and summon a weapon onto him (via Robes of the Summoner, for instance), he will wield it in his offhand. If I target him and summon a second weapon, he apparently does nothing with it. To make matters more complicated, the one and only way I've found to get the animation pet to wield something in its primary hand is by first casting an illusion on it to change its race away from the Invisible Man model, and then I must hand the pet a weapon manually while it is under this new form. Only then will the ENC pet wield something in its main hand. It's an awful lot of micromanagement just to get a pet to wield what I want it to wield, but the matter is not of pressing importance and may well be more complicated than its worth to figure out from a developer's standpoint....
 
Pets dual wield at level 20. The spell that you get at level 20 is a level 19 pet and therefore will not dual wield. The spell you get at level 24 is a level 23 pet and does dual wield.

If you are causing the pet spell you get at level 20 to dual wield weapons, that would be a bug because it should not dual wield.

Thank you for getting back to me, but you obviously missed what else was said. I am not saying this to annoy you, I am pointing it out because I've typed it a few different times now.

What about the LOWER level summon fang spell that mages get. The fang that does NOT have a level requirement. The level 20 pet will NOT dual wield that. I look forward to your response.

Hesyous

EDIT: Clarification!!! The level 19 pet you get at level 20 DOES dual wield. It will a dagger and a fang. But not two fangs. This is has changed to a notification only. I am no longer requesting anything.
 
Last edited:
The level 19 pet (pet level, not spell level) is not capable of dual wielding anything. At all. Not fangs, not rusty scimitars, nada.

Just like a player warrior can't dual wield anything until level 16 or something like that. Once your pet is level 20+, good to go.
 
No Enasc. The level 19 pet dual wields. It does a dagger (summoned dagger) and a summoned fang.

I understand what j said, I am just pointing it out.
 
Then that sounds like a bug that will likely result in your level 20 spell level pet not dual wielding anything, as I believe this thread notes it was intended.

Will Mage kind survive such a brutal nerf? Only time will tell.
 
HA! As long as they don't break it. meaning, still allow the pet to hold a shield, who cares...
 
Back
Top Bottom