High School Programming Courses

Aratar

Dalayan Beginner
I'm in a position to implement a computer programming course into the school that I am a long-term substitute at. The problem I currently have is deciding which language to implement for my students. My students do not have a strong background in computers. I have experience with QBasic, C, JavaScript, Flash, and XML. I am self-taught by nature and am confident I could teach myself any language over the summer in order to teach it in the fall.

If you have a moment, could you provide me with any programming courses you have taken in high school as well as your thoughts or opinions on them.

If you work in a business setting using various bits of programming, what kind of skills or knowledge do you look for in hiring someone?

Lastly, if you have any other information you feel would help me, feel free to reply or toss me a PM here on the forums.

Thanks!

We were taught Java for a few reasons:
The NetBeans IDE (Sun's) is free.
It's pretty easy to use.
It makes the students without any real programming experience feel that they are actually making something because it has an interface.

Personally I'd say you could do the same with C#, but I don't know if there are any free compilers that can compare to NetBeans, so unless your school wants to throw a lot of money on Visual Studio, I'd go with Java.

Basically our semester looked like this:
HTML
CMS (Content Management Systems)
Machine Code + Assemble + Basic hardware understanding
Higher Programming Language (Java)
Free topic (I chose PHP, but some chose HTML with JavaScript)

I'm currently a freshman computer science major at college and I was taught Java in highschool.

This all depends on what you want to cover with the course, if it is more of an introduction in general, then the following might not apply, the course I took was basically entirely about higher level programming and was based on the topics covered on the AP exam.